Over the weekend, the NHL confirmed that the 2020-2021 season would officially begin on January 13th, 2021. What’s more, the shortened season will feature a division made entirely of Canadian teams. Here’s a quick rundown.

The NHL broke the news via a press release on Sunday that players had agreed to a return to play plan. Each team will play 56 games next season, with no preseason games being played. Of course, we’re more interested in how they’ve restructured the divisions.

Related Posts:
Here’s how the World Junior bubble is shaping up in Edmonton
Here are the 10 most affordable cities to rent in Canada right now


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by NHL (@nhl)

Now, there will be 4 divisions for the 31 teams, with all seven Canadian teams in the same one. The NHL expects that Canadian teams will face off against each other ‘9 or 10’ times. Meanwhile, the other teams play 8 games against the other teams in their modified bubble.

While this is a bummer for playoff hopes this year, it does mean an entire season of Canadian rivalries. Here’s hoping this year’s ‘North Division’ brings the heat. For more information on the return to play plan, just click here!