Whether your dream is to take a Lizzie McGuire-inspired trip to Italy or hope to find yourself under the lights of the Eiffel Tower, North American travellers should prepare to spend a few extra dollars on future adventures overseas – but not as soon as we initially thought!

According to the European Union, several countries from Austria to Switzerland will introduce a European Travel Information Authorization System (or ETIAS for short), but they’ve given us more time!

“The rules of travel to most European countries have changed,” the European Union explains on their website. 

“Starting in mid-2025, some 1.4 billion people from over 60 visa-exempt countries are required to have a travel authorization to enter 30 European countries for a short stay.”


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Spain (@spain)

Meant to reduce procedures and wait times, as well as address security concerns, this program will ensure that those who live in the United States, Canada and the UK (just to name a few) have been given further clearance before entering one of the following countries.

These destinations include:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Switzerland Tourism (@myswitzerland)

“ETIAS travel authorization is an entry requirement for visa-exempt nationals travelling to any of these 30 European countries,” they write.

“With a valid ETIAS travel authorization, you can enter the territory of these European countries as often as you want for short-term stays – normally for up to 90 days in any 180-day period.”

Luckily, each application will only cost €7 (or $9.50 CAD), will be good for up to 3 years, and as we mentioned, will not be necessary until mid-2025 despite previously announcing that ETIAS would be locked in at the start of 2024.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Visit Greece (@visitgreecegr)

To apply, all you need is 10 minutes, a valid passport and the personal information of whoever is travelling. This will not need to be done for anyone under 18 years of age.

For more information on ETIAS, we’d recommend checking out this website here. Otherwise, Bon Voyage!

Here’s to many more – (slightly cheaper) trips in 2024 and an experimental 2025.