Sneaky exes and friends, beware. This week, the streaming service Netflix rolled out a new feature that is supposed to help prevent password sharing for accounts. The story was first covered by the tech publication GammaWire. Here’s a quick rundown of what’s changed.
Apparently, some people logging into Netflix using a different device have come across a new verification page. This page says they’re not currently an authorized user, and that authorization is required from the account owner (sent via e-mail or text message). Weirdly, the screen also has a ‘verify later’ option, which most people have been using.
Related Posts:
One Canadian city is actually looking for volunteers to scare coyotes
New list reveals most liveable places in Canada outside of the big city
But, that’s why we put the ‘sneaky’ qualifier in the first sentence. Because from our understanding, this is more like a nuisance for those who use their friend or family’s Netflix account with permission. Years ago, Netflix said that sharing accounts actually helped their business, since it operated as a sort of grassroots marketing tool.
But, that was in 2016, and since then quite a few streaming services entered the game. We’re not betting folks, but we’re thinking that the whole “I’ll give you Disney+ if you give me Netflix” trend has really taken off.
We don’t have a crystal ball though, people. And, it’s looking like we might not have Netflix in a few weeks either (wink, wink).
The installations total over one million twinkling holiday lights!
All the most exciting events on Halloween Day!
If there's one thing that makes October even better, it's getting to watch your favourite…
There's something about New York City that makes you want to keep coming back. Maybe…
Fall is the perfect time to cozy up with a good book, and there's a…
One of Alberta's most popular Nordic spas is getting a major upgrade, with new saunas,…